Tyson´s Travels

join me as I travel around the world.

Next Move

I am writing to you from my favourite Uzbek restaurant. No self respecting Russian would set foot in here as it’s a hive of ethnic activity with most ex Soviet groups represented. I feel like I am on holiday already. Some groups suck and slurp back the laghman (noodles) while others dive into the manti (dumplings) while still others indulge in shashlik (BBQ meat). Meanwhile everyone drinks tea out of little bowls. The air is smoke free and filled with the sound of dozens exotic languages none of which are Russian. It’s wonderful.

I usually don’t dine alone as ordering can be tricky. I have been here long enough I can decipher most things on the menu even though I still can’t read Cyrillic. I had forgotten the word for dumplings so I pointed at the neighbouring table and the waitress proceeded to lift plates of food in the air in a gesture that said “This?”. She started with the typical round Uzbek bread and a piece broke lose and fell off the plate and on to the table. To hide her crime she stuffed it into her mouth as quickly as she could to the chargrin of the poor customer whose bread it was. The rest of the meal went smoothly although the too attentive waitress insisted on taking utensils and half soiled napkins before I have finished with them. It’s not as if they are in a hurry go have me leave as the bill takes its time arriving even after I request it.

Here I sit contemplating my future while looking over my plans and contemplating further moves. I leave Moscow in 11 days for Paris to see my mother for a short period of time. We leave the same day but I head to Lisbon on the recommendation of an ex-girlfriend. From there a short overnight train takes me to Madrid and my flight to Katmandu. In the capital of Nepal I will meet up with Eileen, Isabel, Jeremy and Mac for a month saunter to Everest Base Camp. While all of them fly home to Canada I will stay and tour friendly Nepal for a week. It is here where my next moves is undecided.

Stay tuned.

Tyson

Tyson Brookshttps://tysontravels.wordpress.com

5 comments on “Next Move

  1. jeff
    April 11, 2014

    Hey Tyson, it’s Jeff (CC). I am about to embark on a huge new adventure in another part of the globe that may be of interest in your next career move. Contact me at the email I left here.

  2. aidadruida
    April 11, 2014

    Oh I’m so jealous! I want giant bowl of lagman right now! Enjoy your journeys that you’ve planned! Bon voyage!

  3. veronicalopez8285
    April 11, 2014

    If you want change in your life, keep moving! I missed so much reading your blog… I’m happy for your plans, and looking forward for more 🙂

  4. therockandrolls
    April 11, 2014

    Awesome adventures! I’ll keep reading if you keep writing.
    Thanks and best wishes on your trips.

  5. Diana
    April 11, 2014

    Loved your update -always interesting, always informative and fun! You provide the venue for armchair travelling! A special Hi to your Mom in Paris.
    Diana and Tom xx

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2014 by in Russia, Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 183 other subscribers
Vero Supertramp

Getting those creative juices flowing

Port90's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

dashabu

Paper, Pen and Pencil

Tyson´s Travels

join me as I travel around the world.